Tuesday, March 9, 2010

Wheat - FAAN

Wheat - FAAN

This is the best explanation I have actually seen to explain the difference between celiac disease and wheat allergy. I have wheat allergy. But for the most part, adherence to a gluten free diet is essential.

People with celiac disease cannot even tolerate barley or rye. Sometimes they cannot tolerate any gluten whatsoever. But with a wheat allergy, barley and rye is acceptable provided there is no wheat included in the ingredients.

However, because of the widespread use of wheat in a number of foods, sometimes it is hard to find foods that are wheat free without going gluten free. Wheat can be found, of course, in bread. Wheat can also be found in candy, sauces, dressings, pastas, flours, soups and a number of other sources I probably do not even know about. 

Sociable